FALL 2009 Volume 12, Issue 1

VIEWPOINT

Official Publication of the Eastern Ohio Education Association eastern.ohea.us

Board of Directors 2009-10

Belmont A

Robert Zatezalo Bellaire

Belmont B

Misty Glitch Bridgeport

Coshocton

Melissa Shamel Coshocton

Guernsey

Bob Mascolino Cambridge

Harrison

Adrienne Cook Harrison Hills

Jefferson A

M.J.Burkett Steubenville

Jefferson B

Jennifer Fortunato Steubenville

Monroe

Linda Josefczyk Switzerland of Ohio

Muskingum A

Renée Spiker Tri-Valley

Muskingum B

Joe Stemm Franklin Local

Noble

Sandra Carpenter Noble Local

Support-MR/DD

Amy McConn Bridgeport

EOEA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

At the EOEA Spring RA Michael Dossie, Bellaire, was re-elected as President and Danielle Leach, Noble Local, was elected Vice President.

The names of the EOEA Board of Directors are listed on the left. New to the Board this year are Adrienne Cook representing Harrison County, M.J. Burkett representing Jefferson County, and Joe Stemm representing Muskingum County.

Burkett was appointed to replace Kim Smith who has moved from the area. Cook takes the seat of long time Harrison County representative Ruth Weaver who has retired. Stemm fills the vacant Muskingum B position.

The following openings exist: Alternates for Belmont County B and Support-MR/DD. If you are interested in serving contact President Dossie or Executive Director Boyd.

EOEA CONSTITUTION CHANGED

As you can probably tell by the previous article the name of the Executive Committee has been changed to Board of Directors and the Executive Secretary is now the Executive Director.

The delegates at the 2009 Spring Representative Assembly approved

these changes to the Constitution.

Also approved was the deletion of several committees in order for EOEA to conform to the new OEA committee structure in the future.

Another change clarifies the duties of the EOEA Screening Committee.

AUGUST WORKSHOPS AND PICNIC

Fifty-three members attended the workshops held in August. One workshop was the annual Local Treasurers' workshop presented by OEA Secretary/Treasurer Jim Timlin. Those attending met one of the criteria for the OEA Fiscal Fitness Award.

Two members also won free OEA dues for 2009-10. They were:
Treasurers Joyce Toohey –
Barnesville ACE and Arlene
Obertance – Edison Local EA.

The other workshop was to assist locals with bringing their Constitutions into compliance with OEA. However, the presenter was unable to attend. The workshop has been rescheduled for October 8, 2009.

Pictures of the event are posted on our web site:

http://eastern.ohea.us/pics.html

Following the workshops the annual Local Leaders Picnic was held at the St. Clairsville Park.

eastern.ohea.us PAGE 2

OEA Committee Members

Convention Planning

Lorna Ferguson Zanesville

Legislative Committee

Nellie Leach Noble Local

Resolution Committee

Renée Spiker Tri-Valley

Collective Bargaining

Tom Komisak Steubenville

Local Development and Training

Jennifer Fortunato Steubenville

Member Rights and Protection

Sherri Davidson Switzerland of Ohio

Organizing Strategy

Jim Drake St Clairsville

Professional Efficacy

Denise Leach Barnesville

OEA LEADERSHIP CONFERENCE

EOEA awarded ten scholarships and OEA provided 10 matching grants for this summer's Leadership Conference held August 3 - 5 in Dublin, OH. EOEA also had 7 members in the OEA emerging leaders program.

The highlight of the conference was the "Idol" contest held on Monday evening and sponsored by the District Leaders Council. EOEA's own Robert Zatezalo won the contest and the hearts of many of the attendees. Proceeds from the event went to the Fund for Children and Public Education.

On Tuesday afternoon EOEA and ECOEA hosted a reception for members to meet members from other locals. Guests included OEA President Frost-Brooks, Vice President Leibensperger and Secretary/Treasurer Timlin, OEA Executive Director Larry Wicks, Past President of OEA Gary Allen, and several leaders from other Districts.

See our web site for pictures!

AMERICAN EDUCATION WEEK 2009

The 88th annual American Education Week will be held November 15 through November 21.

NEA's AEW spotlights the importance of providing every child in America with a quality public education from kindergarten through college.

This year's theme is "Great Public Schools: A Basic Right and Our Responsibility."

For more information go to the following web site:

http://www.nea.org/aew

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

2009

October 5 EOEA Board of Directors – St Clairsville

November 19 EOEA Representative Assembly – Undo's

December 14..... EOEA Board of Directors – St Clairsville

2010

January 11..... EOEA Board of Directors – St Clairsville

February 8...... EOEA Board of Directors – St Clairsville

March 8 EOEA Board of Directors – St Clairsville

April 22 EOEA Representative Assembly – Undo's