2012-13 Volume 5 Issue 3

VIEWPOINT

Official Publication of the Eastern Ohio Education Association
President - Danielle Bunting
Vice President - Michael Dossie
Executive Director - Jack Boyd

View our web site at: eastern.ohea.us

2013 Spring OEA Representative Assembly Report

Becky Higgins from Copley-Fairlawn City Schools was elected OEA President and Scott Di-Mauro from Worthington was elected OEA Vice-President at the Spring Representative Assembly held in Columbus on May 10-11, 2013.

The Representative Assembly approved three new business items on the Common Core State Standards:

• To support the Common Core as a way to engage students in a coherent, challenging curriculum and help them succeed at college and careers.

- To demand more resources, training and technology support to ensure the successful implementation of the Common Core.
- To pass laws and administrative rules that would end testing based on outdated academic content standards.

Also adopted were the OEA Core Values. The core values represent the Association's most deeply held beliefs. They may be viewed on the OEA website at:

http://www.ohea.org/core-values

OEA RA Attendance Report

The number of state-wide delegates elected to the OEA Spring Representative Assembly was 1396, 1010 of those attended for a 66.88% attendance rate.

Eastern OEA elected 31 delegates with only 18 attending for a 58.06% attendance rate.

Eastern could have had 73 delegates elected to attend the assembly. Which means that we only had 42.46% of our alloted number elected and only 25.66% of the total number of possible delegates actually attended.

We can to do better!

August!!

On Tuesday, August 13, 2013, we will be offereing workshops for local leaders and volunteers.

The annual Local Treasurers workshop will be conducted by OEA Secrectary/ Treasurer, Tim Myers. Attendance at this workshop is one of the requirements of the OEA Fiscal Fitness Award.

A second workshop on contract comparison is in the planning stages.

Following the workshops we will host our annual Local Leaders Picnic at the Saint Clairsville Park in the Rotary Pavilion. All workshop attendees are encouraged to attend as well as other local leaders.

More information will be provided to local presidents when plans are finalized.

Please RSVP for these events by Tuesday, August 6, 2013, to: oea.eastern@gmail.com

Officer Changes

Nellie Bunting resigned as EOEA President at the May Board of Directors meeting. Her resignation was accepted with regret.

Michael Dossie will assume the position of President and Bunting was appointed to the Vice Presidents position for 2013-2015.

Bunting cited additional responsibilites at the local level as the main reason for her resignation and the fact that she did not feel she could continue to give the time needed to lead the EOEA for the next two years.

Retirements

The following dedicated members are retiring at the end of this school year.

Renée Spiker is the Muskingum A representative on the Board of Directors. She is a member of the Tri-Valley Education Association.

Tom Komisak who has served as Vice President and is currently alternate from Jefferson. Tom is a member of the Steubenville Education Association.

We wish them both a happy reitrement.

STRS News

Bob Stein and Jim McGreevy were re-elected to the retired member seats on the STRS Board. Their four year terms begin September 1, 2013 and end on August 31, 2017.

McGreevy is a member of EOEA-R and has served in various positions as an active member of EOEA. He also served as an OEA Director from Eastern.

McGreevy is a frequent guest at EOEA Board of Director meetings and EOEA-R luncheons.

If you have any questions concerning STRS feel free to contact McGreevy or Stein. Even though they represent the retirees they are always willing to listen to all STRS members regarding the retirement system.

The one seat for a contributing teacher member had only one qualified candidate apply, so by law no election was needed. Incumbent Carol Correthers will continue to serve until August 31, 2017.

Opportunities to Serve

We currently have two positions open on OEA Committees for members from Eastern. The committees are Resolutions and Collective Bargaining.

Anyone interested or wanting additional information should contact Jack at: oea.eastern@gmail.com

EOEA Spring RA Report

The 2013 Spring RA was held on April 11th at Undo's in Saint Clairsville. There were 49 delegates and 5 guests.

The following members were elected: Nellie Bunting, President; Michael Dossie, OEA Director and EOEA Vice-president; Melissa Shamel, Coshocton; Jim McCullogh, Muskingum B; Sandy Carpenter, Noble; Kristine Schoeppner, Noble alternate.

Alternates from Coshocton and Muskingum are still needed.

Delegates concurred with the screening committee's recommendation to endorsed Bill Leibensperger for OEA President and Scott DiMauro for OEA Vice-president.

The Crisis Fund raffle winner was Allison Bartek from Buckeye Local CTA. She won \$171.

Secure Your Retirement

NEA Member Benefits has developed the *NEA Retirement E-Newletter* to help make your retirement better. Register online at: www.neamb.com