Eastern Ohio Education Association Spring Representative Assembly Minutes June 11, 2020

President Karen Lloyd – Indian Creek, called the meeting to order at 5:06 PM. The meeting was held virtually via Zoom.

Sondra Vojvodich – Indian Creek, moved to adopt the agenda with flexibility, second Robin Schoene – Bellaire. Motion carried.

Neil Ritchie – Switzerland of Ohio, moved to accept the minutes of the fall RA, second by Martha Mitchell – Zanesville. Motion carried.

Jamie Thompson – Steubenville, moved the proposed budget on behalf of the Board of Directors. Motion carried.

Mitchell moved the proposed change to Article VI of the Constitution on behalf of the Board of Directors. Motion carried. There was one abstention. (Changed from 500 to 400 the number of members needed for a director allocation)

ELECTIONS

Jack Boyd – Executive Director, assumed the chair for the purpose of conducting the elections.

The declared candidate for Guernsey was Wendy Cochran. No other nominations were made. No nominations were made for Guernsey alternate. That position was referred to the Board of Directors.

The declared candidate for Muskingum B was Katie Sites. No other nominations were made. No nominations were made for Muskingum B alternate. That position was referred to the Board of Directors.

Cochran and Sites were elected according to our bylaws since they were unopposed.

The "new" positions created by the Constitutional change will also be referred to the Board of Directors. The Muskingum C position will be for one year in order to accommodate the rotation of elections.

Lloyd reported on links on the OEA web site that members might want to look into.

Boyd announced that the Presidents Workshop would be held virtually on August 3, 2020, at 10:00 AM. The Treasurers Workshop for new treasurers will be held at 1:00 PM and the experienced Treasurers Workshop at 2:45 PM, also virtually on August 3, 2020.

Amy Vavrock – Bridgeport, moved to adjourn at 5:27 PM, second by Sarah Hibbits – Indian Creek. Motion carried.

Jack Boyd, Executive Secretary