Eastern Ohio Education Association Spring Representative Assembly Minutes April 8, 2021

President Karen Lloyd – Indian Creek, called the meeting to order at 5:32 PM. The meeting was held virtually via Zoom.

Myra Warne – Maysville, moved to adopt the agenda with flexibility, second Isabelle Heiser – Indian Creek. Motion carried.

M.J. Burkett – Steubenville, moved to accept the minutes of the 2020 Spring RA, second by Kaneale Cornell – Tri-Valley. Motion carried.

Rita Walters – Retired moved to accept the standing rules, second by Michael Dossie – Retired. Motion carried.

Lloyd introduced the guest: William Baird, Bret Benack, Adrienne Bowden, Sharron Callahan, Patricia Collins-Murdock, Mary Alice Conkey, Carol Correthers, Cassandra Daniels, Dan Greenberg, Mark Hill, Barbara Martini, Robert McFee, Suzie Neff, Angela Stewart, and Jeff Wensing.

All candidates made presentations to the assembly. Since all are unopposed no endorsement was made, but all delegates were encouraged to support them.

Stewart and Bowden gave the NEA Directors' Report. It was noted that OEA has a NEA Director opening and Eastern members were encouraged to consider seeking the position.

A video from OEA President Scott DiMauro was played. DiMauro thanked everyone for working during the pandemic and discussed the upcoming OEA RA.

OEA Vice President, Jeff Wensing discussed seven pieces of legislation that are important to education. He also noted that FCPE is now called the OEA Fund.

OEA Secretary/Treasurer, Mark Hill reviewed membership numbers which are down around 1.4% and the fact the OEA dues will increase since the average teacher's salary in Ohio increased this past school year.

Lloyd gave a brief overview of Eastern activities and announced the August workshops that are planned for local presidents, local treasurers, and members in general.

Cornell informed the delegates of the OEA ONE activities that they have planned.

Dossie moved to approve the treasurer's report, second by Sondra Vojvodich – Indian Creek. Motion carried.

Dossie moved the proposed budget on behalf of the Board of Directors. Motion carried.

ELECTIONS

Jack Boyd – Executive Director, assumed the chair for the purpose of conducting the elections.

The declared candidate for EOEA President was Karen Lloyd. No other nominations were made. The declared candidate for EOEA Vice President was M.J. Burkett. No other nominations were made.

The declared candidate for Belmont B was Shelly Hertler. No other nominations were made. No nominations were made for Belmont B alternate. That position was referred to the Board of Directors.

The declared candidate for Harrison was Roxane Starkey. No other nominations were made. No nominations were made for Harrison alternate. That position was referred to the Board of Directors.

The declared candidate for Jefferson A was Jamie Thompson. No other nominations were made. No nominations were made for Jefferson A alternate. That position was referred to the Board of Directors.

The declared candidate for Muskingum C was Kaneale Cornell. No other nominations were made.

Steve Morrison was nominated for Muskingum C alternate. No other nominations were made.

All nominees were elected in accordance with Section 6 of our bylaws.

Lloyd reassumes the chair.

Lloyd announced that the Switzerland of Ohio Education Association won the OEA Blue Ribbon Association award. The award includes a \$1000 donation to the Association. They will be recognized at the OEA RA.

The EOEA Local grant winners from 2019-20 and 2020-21 were recognized; Shadyside, Maysville and Indian Creek.

Dossie moved to adjourn at 7:29 PM, second by Walters. Motion carried.

OEA Director M.J. Burkett gave the OEA delegate briefing following the assembly.

Jack Boyd, Executive Secretary