# Eastern Ohio Education Association Spring Representative Assembly Minutes April 20, 2023

President Karen Lloyd – Indian Creek, called the meeting to order at 6:05 P.M. at Undo's in St. Clairsville. The OEA delegate briefing preceded the meeting.

George Hoover – Barnesville ESP, led the Pledge of Allegiance and Mike Dossie - Retired, gave the invocation.

Robin Schoene – Bellaire, moved to adopt the agenda with flexibility, second by Shelly Hertler – Shadyside. Motion carried.

Michelle Maffe – Bellaire, moved to approve the standing rules, second by Hoover. Motion carried.

Amy Vavrock – Bridgeport, gave the preliminary credentials report: 29 delegates and 10 guests.

Myra Warne – Maysville, moved to approve the minutes of the 2022 Fall RA as amended to correct the recess time, second by Jamie Thompson – Steubenville. Motion carried.

Kate Owen – OEA ONE Ambassador addressed the delegates and also spoke on behalf of Tonya Horn candidate for OEA Director ESP At-Large.

*The meeting recessed at 6:20 for dinner and resumed at 6:47.* 

Lloyd, introduced the EOEA Board of Directors and guests. The guests included: Adrienne Bowden – NEA Director #6, Scott DiMauro – OEA President, Nick Gurich – OEA EPRMA Director, Mark Hill – OEA Secretary/Treasurer, Dwayne Marshall – Candidate for NEA Director #1, Angela Savinda – NEOEA Director #6, Jeff Wensing – OEA Vice President, Dan Greenberg – NEA Director #5, and Amy Butcher – Candidate for NEA Director #2.

The delegates heard the following campaign speeches: Dwayne Marshall for NEA Director #1, Amy Butcher for NEA Director #2, Mike Dossie for Phyllis Carter-Bell for NEA Director #2.

### REPORTS

NEA Directors Bowden, Greenberg and Marshall gave the NEA Directors Report that covered national education issues.

OEA Officers DiMauro, Wensing and Hill gave the OEA Report that covered educational issues in Ohio. The report included both positives and negatives. An increase in the base salary for Ohio teachers is in the budget that is in the House, expansion of vouchers is also on the table, just to mention a few items.

President Lloyd encouraged everyone to congratulate themselves for doing the most important job of preparing students for the future. She also mentioned the online way of donating to the OEA Fund and the upcoming treasurers and presidents workshops to be held August 3, 2023, via Zoom. She also reminded locals of the grants available from Eastern.

Jack Boyd – EOEA Executive Director presented the financial report.

On behalf of the EOEA Board of Directors, Neil Ritchie – Switzerland of Ohio, moved to accept

the proposed 2023-2024 budget. The motion carried.

Vavrock gave the final Credentials report: 29 delegates and 10 guests.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Boyd enumerated the openings on the Eastern OEA Board of Directors and encouraged delegates to consider serving.

Thompson moved to go into executive session to discuss endorsements at 8:00, second by Hoover. Motion carried.

Dossie moved to exit executive session at 8:03, second by Ritchie. Motion carried. Hoover moved to endorse Phyllis Carter-Bell for NEA Director #2, second by Abagale Sempkowski – Buckeye Local. Motion carried.

## **ELECTIONS**

Boyd assumed the chair for the purpose of conducting the elections.

Karen Lloyd was the declared candidate for EOEA President. No other nominations were made. Jamie Thompson was the declared candidate for EOEA Vice President. No other nominations were made.

There were no declared candidates for Belmont A director. Robin Schoene was nominated. No other nominations were made.

Margie Milton was nominated for Belmont B alternate. No other nominations were made.

Abby Knott was the declared candidate for Guernsey. No other nominations were made.

No nominations were made for Guernsey alternate.

Abagale Sempkowski was the declared candidate for Jefferson B. No other nominations were made.

No nominations were made for Jefferson B alternate.

Myra Warne was the declared candidate for Muskingum B. No other nominations were made. There were no nominations for Muskingum B alternate.

In accordance with our Bylaws all candidates were elected as they were all unopposed.

President Lloyd adjourned the assembly at 8:15.

Jack Boyd, Executive Secretary