# Eastern Ohio Education Association Spring Representative Assembly Minutes April 18, 2024

President Karen Lloyd – Indian Creek, called the meeting to order at 6:03 P.M. at Undo's in St. Clairsville. The OEA delegate briefing preceded the meeting.

George Hoover – Barnesville ESP, led the Pledge of Allegiance and Mike Dossie – Retired, gave the invocation.

Robin Schoene – Bellaire, moved to adopt the agenda with flexibility, second by Hoover. Motion carried.

Dossie moved to approve the standing rules, second by Neil Ritchie – Switzerland of Ohio. Motion carried.

Pat Boyd - Guest, gave the preliminary credentials report: 27 delegates and 14 guests.

Abbe Sempkowski – Buckeye Local, moved to approve the minutes of the 2023 Fall RA, second by Genevieve Varkony – Buckeye Local. Motion carried.

The meeting recessed at 6:08 for dinner and resumed at 6:42.

During the break NEA Member Benefits representative Guy Kendall-Freas reviewed services provided by NEA MB.

Lloyd, introduced the EOEA Board of Directors and guests. The guests included: Adrienne Bowden – NEA Director #6, Sharron Callahan – candidate for NEA Director, Scott DiMauro – OEA President, Angel Dryer-Sanchez – NEA Director #3, Dan Greenburg – NEA Director #5, Mark Hill – OEA Secretary/Treasurer, Linna Jordan – Candidate for NEA Director, Dwayne Marshall – NEA Director #1, Rob McFee – Candidate for OEA Secretary/Treasurer, Brandy Raabe – OEA Controller, Kristy Spires – OEA CFO, and Jeff Wensing – OEA Vice President.

## **REPORTS**

The NEA Directors reviewed the Fall 2024 Ohio NEA Director's Report (copy attached to original minutes).

OEA Officers DiMauro, Wensing and Hill gave the OEA Report: DiMauro covered the upcoming OEA RA, summer events at OEA, the Citizens not Politicians petition drive, and announced that guest speaker at the RA would be Senator Brown, Wensing cover several bills in the Ohio House and Senate some good some not so good, and Hill gave highlights of the OEA Budget that will be presented to the delegates at the OEA RA.

President Lloyd encouraged everyone to take time to appreciate what they have accomplished and to consider the positives rather than the negatives.

Jack Boyd – EOEA Executive Director presented the financial report.

On behalf of the EOEA Board of Directors, Dossie moved to approve the proposed 2024-2025 budget. The motion carried.

Pat Boyd gave the final Credentials report: 27 delegates and 14 guests.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

Lloyd encouraged members to consider serving on OEA Committees. We have openings on the following: Resolutions, Collective Bargaining, Local Development & Training, Organizing Strategies, and Professional Efficacy

## **ELECTIONS**

Boyd assumed the chair for the purpose of conducting the elections.

There were no declared candidates for any of the positions. Shelly Hertler was nominated for Belmont B Director, Roxane Starkey was nominated for Harrison Director, Alisha Steel was nominated for Harrison alternate, and Neil Ritchie was nominated for Monroe Director.

In accordance with our Bylaws all nominees were elected as they were all unopposed. All other positions to be elected were referred to the Board of Directors for their consideration. They were Belmont B alternate, Jefferson A Director and alternate, Monroe alternate, Muskingum C director and alternate.

President Lloyd adjourned the assembly at 8:06.

Robin Schoene was the \$58 Crisis Raffle winner.

Jack Boyd, Executive Secretary