Eastern Ohio Education Association Spring Representative Assembly Minutes April 3, 2025

President Jamie Thompson – Steubenville, called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M. at Undo's in St. Clairsville. The OEA delegate briefing preceded the meeting.

Kaneale Cornell – Zanesville, led the Pledge of Allegiance and Karen Lloyd – Retired, gave the invocation.

Neil Ritchie – Switzerland of Ohio, moved to adopt the agenda with flexibility, second by George Hoover – Barnsville Support. Motion carried.

Robin Schoene – Bellaire, moved to approve the standing rules, second by Katrina Morrow – Steubenville. Motion carried.

Schoene gave the preliminary credentials report: 27 delegates and 15 guests.

Nathan Colley – Switzerland of Ohio, moved to approve the minutes of the 2024 Fall RA, second by Cornell. Motion carried.

The meeting recessed at 6:05 for dinner and resumed at 6:40.

Thompson, introduced the EOEA Board of Directors and guests. The guests included: Sharron Callahan – NEA Director #5, Carol Correthers – Candidate for OEA Vice President, Cassandra Daniels – Candidate for NEA Director #4, Scott DiMauro – OEA President, Angel Dryer-Sanchez – Candidate for OEA Vice President, Joel Gleason – Candidate for STRS, Dan Greenberg – Candidate for OEA Vice President, Nick Gurich – OEA Director of Research, Linna Jordan – NEA Director #6, Dwayne Marshall – NEA Director #1, Barb Martini – OEA Director, Rob McFee – OEA Secretary/Treasurer, Sarah McGee – Zanesville, Andrew Smith – NEOEA Vice President, and Jeff Wensing – OEA Vice President.

REPORTS

The NEA Directors reviewed the recent lobbying visits and successes. Report attached.

OEA Officers DiMauro, Wensing and McFee gave the OEA Report: DiMauro covered the new state budget cuts to education; Wensing cover several bills in the Ohio House and Senate some good some not so good, and McFee gave highlights of the OEA Budget that will be presented to the delegates at the OEA RA.

President Thompson thanked everyone for serving our students and profession.

Jack Boyd – EOEA Executive Director presented the financial report.

The proposed 2025-2026 budget was moved on behalf of the Board of Directors. The motion carried.

Schoene gave the final Credentials report: 27 delegates and 16 guests.

Candidates Gleason, Daniels, Correthers, Dryer-Sanchez, and Greenberg gave campaign speeches.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

NEW BUSINESS

Ritchie moved to go into executive session, second by Roxane Starkey – Harrison Hills. Motion carried.

The endorsements of Dan Greenberg for OEA Vice President and Brenda Ames for NEA Director #3 was moved on behalf to the Screening Committee. Motion carried. Abbee Sempkowski – Buckeye Local, moved to exit executive session, second by Hoover. Motion carried.

Thompson reminded everyone of the August Workshops for local presidents and treasurers. Scholarships are available for the Summer Academy by contacting Jack Boyd.

ELECTIONS

Boyd assumed the chair for the purpose of conducting the elections.

Jamie Thompson was nominated for Eastern OEA President, M.J. Burkett was nominated for Eastern Vice President, Neil Ritchie was the declared candidate for the OEA Board of Directors, Neal Wears was nominated for Coshocton Director, Kaneale Cornell was nominated for Muskingum A Director, Kris Schoeppner was nominated for Noble Director, Danielle Easterling was nominated for Noble alternate, George Hoover was nominated for Support/DD Director. Since all elections were unopposed all nominees were elected.

Past President Lloyd conducted the door prize drawing. There were eight lucky winners.

Sempkowski moved to adjourn at 8:23, second by Genevieve Varkony – Buckeye Local. Motion carried.

Jack Boyd, Executive Director